Financial institutions and businesses are required to turn over unclaimed property to the Treasurer's Office if they are unable to locate the rightful owner after a period of time (laws relating to length of time vary by State). If you have had funds sent to the State's Unclaimed Property Division, you can use the links below to access each state's website to receive a refund. You can search the database for each state using the links below:
NOTICE TO CREDIT UNION MEMBERS REGARDING UNCLAIMED PROPERTY
The State of Illinois has enacted a new law governing unclaimed property held in the State. The Revised Uniform Unclaimed Property Act went into effect on January 1, 2018. Under this act, the presumptive period of abandonment for deposit accounts changes from 5 years to 3 years. As a result, accounts without any owner activity for a 3 year period will be turned over to the Illinois State Treasurer's Office, upon completion of the owner notification procedure and subject to the criteria set forth in the Act.
View the Revised Uniform Unclaimed Property Act (765 IL CS 1026)